Program by Hughlett, Lighthouse and Ross UMCs honors local public servants


By Rev. James Luvene

The Eighth Annual Honors and Award Program sponsored by Hughlett, Lighthouse and Ross United Methodist Churches in the Mississippi River District was held at Hughlett United Methodist Church in Tigrett, Tennessee, on Nov. 24.

Honorees included:

  • Neal Chatham, Director of New Life Union Mission
  • Gary Reason, Mayor of Crockett County
  • Rose Clardy, Executive Director of the Dyer County Transitions Program
  • Jean Love, of Crockett County Circuit Court
  • Teresa Powell, Service Manager of Crockett County N.W. Economic Development Authority
  • Mary Frances Avant White, retired educator,  (Grenette Lovelace, program presenter)
  • John Emerson, Mayor of Alamo
  • Neal Durbin, Dyersburg City Schools Director
  • Derrick Stingley, Director West Tennessee Boyscouts Council
(Back row, presented by Margaret Jones, admission administrator at Dyersburg State Community College)
  • Reverend James Luvene
Others Receiving awards but not pictured:
  • Chris Young, mayor of Dyer County
  • Regions Bank of Dyersburg
  • Maria Waiters-Wood, Executive Director of the Alex Haley Museum
 The Honors and Awards Program is an annual event recognizing individuals and institutions who are making a positive impact on the communities they serve.

These individuals and institutions serve as beacons of light to the community as well as to America.