Delegates to 2020 General Conference will be elected by delegates to 2019 Memphis Annual Conference; nominations deadline is April 30


By Dr. David B. Russell,
Secretary, Memphis Conference

The various annual conferences of The United Methodist Church are the legislative bodies of the church.When your local Charge Conference elects delegates to Annual Conference, you are sending your representative to speak and act on your behalf with regard to issues that face our Memphis Conference.These lay delegates, alongside the clergy delegates, make decisions about programs, priorities and budgets.
One of those responsibilities is to elect the delegates who represent the Memphis Conference when the General (world-wide) Conference and Jurisdictional (Southeastern United States) Conference meet in the coming year (2020).
There are an equal number of lay delegates and clergy delegates in the Annual Conference, as well as at the General and Jurisdictional Conferences.

At the Memphis Annual Conference that will meet June 2-4, 2019 in Collierville, TN, your representatives will elect two lay members and two clergy members to be our representatives to General Conference that will meet May 5-15, 2020 in Minneapolis, MN; and two lay and two clergy members to the Southeastern Jurisdictional Conference that will meet July 15-18, 2020 in Lake Junaluska, NC.The Jurisdictional delegates will also serve as alternate delegates to General Conference. Alternate lay and clergy delegates to the Jurisdictional Conference will also be elected.
Clergy delegates are selected from clergy members in full connection and are elected by deacons and elders in full connection, associate members, provisional members who have completed their educational requirements and local pastors who have completed either the Course of Study or have an M. Div. degree and have served a minimum of two consecutive years under appointment immediately preceding the election.
Lay delegates will be selected from those who meet the criteria as stated in the 2016 Discipline of The United Methodist Church:
36. Article V.—The lay delegates to the General and jurisdictional or central conferences shall be elected by the lay members of the annual conference or provisional annual conference without regard to age, provided such delegates shall have been professing members of The United Methodist Church for at least two years next preceding their election, and shall have been active participants in The United Methodist Church for at least four years next preceding their election, and are members thereof within the annual conference electing them at the time of holding the General and jurisdictional or central conferences.
Any member of the Memphis Conference, lay or clergy, may nominate persons to run for these representative positions. All nomination forms, both lay and clergy, must be signed by the nominee and the nominee’s District Superintendent to certify their eligibility to serve if elected.
Here are links to the NOMINATION FORMS:

The completed form must be received by the Memphis Conference Secretary by April 30, 2019. This is necessary to publish the slate of lay and clergy nominees to the delegates to the Memphis Annual Conference 2019 session in advance. Last minute “write-in” candidates will have to turn in a completed nomination form to the Rev. Dr. David Russell, Conference Secretary, by noon on June 3 to be added to the nominee list before the voting.
For the first time, the Memphis Annual Conference will use KEYPAD VOTING devices for the election of General and Jurisdictional delegates.Those submitting nominations by the April 30 deadline will be included in a posted list of lay and clergy nominees prior to Annual Conference. All nominees will be listed on a screen with a corresponding number to enter as vote for that nominee during the balloting. All delegate voting will take place on Tuesday, June 4, and will continue until we have elected all delegates. 
Delegates to the 2019 Memphis Annual Conference should click HERE to find keypad voting instructions. This is a Power Point document.